#1156 The Whaler


Rates: $506 / night (avg.)
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Bed types: K (sleeps 4)
Reviews: 4.80 (from 65 reviews)
Ocean view condo at The Whaler. Fantastic views One bedroom one bath. The condo is on the 11th floor in tower two, located one in from ocean front with fantastic ocean views. Fully equipped, fully furnished, air-conditioned, with full kitchen, and very clean! One of the best condos at The Whaler!! Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Steps away from the beach.

Please note there is a resort fee of $40.00 per day payable to the whaler that the renter is responsible for.

Keywords: Condominium, 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, Beach Condo, Vacation Rental, Beachfront, Breathtaking Views, Walk To All Registration Number: GE-096-268-4928-01, TA-096-268-4928-01, 244088002018

#1156 The Whaler Reviews



Stephen B.
February 2024
Great location with a commanding view from its large lanai on the 11th floor, near the water-end of tower 2. It's a north-facing unit which provides a great view of Black Rock & Moloka'i and shields you from any noise from Whaler's Village. North-facing also means lots of shade (at least in the winter) which could be a pro or a con depending on your preference. FYI ... the sun sets over the island of Lanai (at least in winter) and can not be seen from this unit, but the beach below is perfect for viewing sunsets. We never needed the AC during our Feb stay. Both the living room & bedroom have water views with lanai access. We had both sliders open the whole whole time and enjoyed the continuous surf serenade 24/7. While this 1bed/1bath unit could use some cosmetic updates, it was very clean and a great value for the price. Right on a great beach with its beach walk path connecting all the resorts, the convenience of Whaler's Village next door and an incredible spot for winter whale watching!


Chris S.
February 2024
The view and location are amazing. We’re making plans to stay again…that is best compliment It’s not fancy nor upgraded, not everything was perfect but it’s Maui…. And view and location are worth it.


Kara B.
January 2024
We have always loved The Whaler and this unit was fantastic…there are no words for the amazing location and view!! Thank you! Until next time!!


Keith B.
August 2023
We only had three good days Because of the Lahaina fire we had no electricity, cell service or food for two days. Left the island on the fourth day We had looked for way to this trip for months God bless the Hawaiian people and there losses


Alisa B.
June 2023
We loved how close the condo is to everything Kaanapali and a 5” drive to Lahaina. The view from the balcony is stunning and everything was comfortable and felt like home. We will be back! Lisa and Peter


Justine F.
March 2023
This is our 3rd time at The Whaler and always a fabulous vacation. The location is perfect - great beach with little crowding and so convenient to Whaler’s Village next door. The açaí bowls at Island Vintage Coffee are the best! The unit itself was perfect for the price, though slightly dated in some aspects (like carpeting). Communication was great!



March 2023
Stayed for a week and loved every minute. Some of the reviews for this unit mention that it needs upgrades, and while it could use a few, it is clean and nothing takes away from the awesome views and experience at the Whaler. We easily saw whales from the unit the whole week. The Whaler itself is a perfect combination of some nice services (towels, pool, beach chairs, etc.) without being too boujie for our style. Highly recommend!


jennifer h.
February 2023
We typically stay in a studio but loved having extra space especially since we spent more time in the condo than normal due to the rain. We appreciated the hottub those cooler rainy days and it was so nice having such a great view of black rock and the ocean while having our morning coffee on the lanai. We stayed 2 weeks and were provided with most everything we needed for that time such as dish soap and garbage bags. We have stayed in other vrbo condos which lacked those necessities so appreciated that. Nice beach in front which we walked every day and Whalers Village next door were convenient for shopping and eating out. Had a wonderful stay 😊


Julie P.
February 2023
The view was amazing!


Sarah V.
December 2022
This condo has a nice floor plan and is very well equipped. Owner was extremely accommodating when our flight off the island was cancelled. We were so lucky to reach her and to be able to rent for another night.


Frank S.
December 2022
The unit is dated, carpet is old and stained, shower curtain was covered with mold. Calking all over shower, sink and floor, also moldy and discolored. Furniture was old and worn. It’s obvious this is a long term rental unit for profit only.


Garrett F.
October 2022
Great 10 day trip. Unit had everything we needed. Beautiful view.


Tim T.
September 2022
We have stayed at the Whaler 20+ times and every time it’s a great experience. The people are very very nice and helpful. The facility is exactly what you see in the descriptions. Recommended for anyone who likes a place with a kitchen!


Tammy B.
August 2022
Amazing property in the heart of kaanapali


Tom S.
June 2022
Location perfect. Unit needs some TLC. Think it’s time for some extensive updates. Maybe new carpeting, paint and bathroom facelift. That said , the location is excellent with get view. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay at The Whaler again, just not this unit.


Stacy S.
May 2022
This property has an amazing view and was very clean. The property does need to be updated but the view from the balcony is just wonderful. We truly enjoyed our stay.


Gayle B.
May 2022
Everything was better that described. Just a perfect location and the pictures should be updated because it is better than the pictures show. The property is immaculate and the employees are amazing. We absolutely loved our stay.


James J.
April 2022
This property was clean, spacious and had everything you would need to feel at home. Great location and fabulous View. Truly a vacation to remember.


Chris P.
April 2022
An amazing vacation spent strolling the beach, riding some waves, and watching whales frolicking just off-shore. Who needs a special cruise when you can sit on the lanai with a drink and a pair of binoculars, watching na kohola spouting and breaching? Mahalo for this wonderful experience!


Christopher B.
March 2022
Great place to stay. Best view ever. The unit could use some updating but it was clean. The property was beautifully kept.


Timothy P.
February 2022
Awesome views


Tonya D.
January 2022
This property was amazing! Extremely clean and an elevator ride and a small walk to whalers village which has everything. ABC store for all your souvenirs at decent prices. Even small groceries you may need you can pick up at ABC store. The closet at the property has a little ice chest and chairs that you could take down to the beach. There is also chairs next to the beach that you can carry out to the beach which make it very convenient. Very easy walk to the beach. As everyone mentioned the view is breathtaking. A great place to wake up and have your morning breakfast tea or coffee. My only regret is that I did not book this place for longer I would love to come back for a stay. The host was very quick at getting back to me if I had any questions. Check in Staff was super sweet and very welcoming.


humberto r.
January 2022
Great location. Will stay there again. Very close to beach, shoping, and walking patways.


Mike O.
January 2022
Great location! Best views!


Michelle B.
December 2021
I am a bit perplexed on how to rate this unit. In many ways it was great, the view, the location, super comfortable bed, well stocked kitchen and clean. The staff were wonderful and the beach amazing. My issue is with the description of the listing as being recently remodelled. Don't get me wrong we did have a great stay here but I would not say it is an entirely accurate description. The resort fees are over $30 now and the wallpaper is starting to come off the wall in many places. We had to rent snorkel gear as the ones in the unit were sandy and definitely not sanitized. (reviews stated unit was equipped with snorkel gear) and the carpet could definitely use an update. Carla was very helpful and responsive so that was great. The sunsets are amazing but you do have to go down to the beach as you cant see them from the lanai. So thats my two cents....


Isabel B.
November 2021
First... if anything, the view is BETTER than the photos. Property owner is so easy to work with and very responsive. Easy walking distance to so many good restaurants. Very comfortable bed. Plenty of linens. Did I mention the view? We saw turtles from our lanai! Very nice unit overlooking the beautiful garden. Snorkeling right in front The building is pretty good. You also have a great view of the nightly torch lighting / cliff dive at sunset. Would defiantly stay again.


Marc H.
September 2021
Great communication with Joe. Easy check in. Room clean upon check in. View from the room to the pool, ocean, and sunsets is second to none. Full kitchen always a bonus with a longer stay. Highly recommend and will inquire about availability when we go again. Thanks Marc


gertruda l.
August 2021
Beautiful view


Russie E.
August 2021
We couldn't have asked for a better location! The beach was amazing, views from balcony were stunning and right next to shopping & many other amenities. Very clean and had literally everything we needed. We'll stay again!


Willie M.
July 2021
This unit is conveniently located with spectacular views. I hope next time we go back to Maui is available.


Patricia A.
July 2021
Easy!


Han N.
June 2021
Location next to the Whalers was perfect. Lots of restaurant/shopping options right next door. View from 11th floor was awesome. 5 minute walk to Black Rock area for snorkeling & cliff diving. All the beach gear included with unit rental. Unit could use some upgrading(replace the carpet). Overall it was great stay.


Matt B.
June 2021
The condo and setting were wonderful and just as advertised in the listing.


Barbara P.
June 2021
We've done 18 trips to Hawaii and other than one time in a hotel room, this was the best view we've ever had! We enjoyed our view and used it constantly. The condo was very comfortable. The only complaint I had about cleanliness was that the cleaner must have forgotten to clean the kitchen floor from the last person....it was filthy and once I cleaned it I felt very comfortable. The owner (or someone) had removed the sink and tub drain covers so you have to be careful of what could fall down the drain. I dropped a tylenol (no biggie) but it could have been my wedding ring so I moved my tanning supplies to the other side of the sink. This condo wasn't the fanciest/most modern one we've been in but they supplied everything you could need....even snorkel equipment! We really enjoyed our visit and particularly our view!


Katherine G.
June 2021
1156 beat our expectations in every way. Location, amenities, quick response from the owners to every question we had - we had an absolutely stress-free vacation, and hope to be back soon! You have everything available for a perfect beach stay - a gourmet kitchen equipped with all the tools, spices and sauces you may need. Beach chairs, floaties, snorkeling gear, boogie boards and sand toys for the little ones are ready for your enjoyment. The condo itself is perfectly situated. Skip the elevator, and walk down the stairs straight to the beach. Beat the afternoon heat sipping drinks on the lanai. Relax at the pool amd the hot tub at night. A short drive to hiking, snorkeling, shopping and restaurants. Safeway 24/7 supermarket is just 10 mins away. Bring bottled water and fresh ice, and forget about all your worries. Aloha!

Note: Vacancy calendar is approximate. Visit the owner/manager's reservation site to verify your dates.

Travel Tip - Car Rentals
Discount Hawaii Car Rental often has the lowest car rental rates in Hawaii. There's no deposit, no booking fees, and you can cancel at anytime.