We had an amazing 8 day stay and will for sure stay here again. We had breakfast and dinners on the patio overlooking the ocean, when we ate in. All the pans and cooking utensils I needed was available plus more. Previous renters left good spices & coffee which was nice. There was a nice breeze in the bed room at night with the window open. There was cleaning supplies to use through the week with a vacuum and broom for the sand. We was nicely surprised how comfortable the king size bed was. What I thought could definitely use improvement is the property management, whom your supposed to call with questions. We had 3 occurrences and could not reach anyone. Every time we had to call the owner, he was amazing & got things taken care of quickly with no frustration. He was on it and apologetic. Thanks & we'll be back.
Great owner, great people staying in other, no central air but you don't need it. If you leave the sliding glass door open use the screen otherwise you end up with birds inside. beautiful clean condo. Owner very responsive. Great location.
We contacted the mgt company the night we arrived re the parking permit and got the answering svc. Mgt texted us the next day, but we called them back with further questions so they def had our contact info available. This is when we also learned that the condo had not been inspected prior to our arrival (this is policy) because there wasn’t time. We didn’t know there was a concern regarding the fridge-see previous review. We were never told a technician would be coming in. We came back to the unit to find a technician in the unit unattended. We contacted both the host and mgt company to relay our disconcerts of this unauthorized entry. The host stated he thought someone was coming in prior to our arrival and mgt stated they didn’t have our contact info. The host was also made aware of the lack of cleanliness; the coffee filter holder with grounds in it, the food in the garbage disposal, the need to clean the sink and disposal myself. The crumbs in the toaster, a broken kitchen drawer, a dirty pillow sham on the floor of the bedroom and the unit wasn’t inspected prior to our arrival. The host apologized and offered a 20% discount if we rented again but when I suggested a 20% refund for our troubles he declined. One phone conversation he stated he wished he was there instead of us. Great balcony views and beach access but the mgt company and host not so much. This review only allows so many characters so unable to provide full details of this experience
This condo was absolutely perfect. The view is unbeatable. The little beach is great for sitting and watching the sunset. The winds kept the condo cool throughout the day and night. 10/10 would recommend! Stocked with everything we needed for our stay and couldn’t be happier. Sad our next trip will include our kids and we won’t fit in this location.
Property overall was fine. Great view. It became difficult because of the host. We came back from the beach one day and the refrigerator wasn’t working properly. The ice wasn’t freezing and there was a puddle of water on the top shelf of the fridge. We notified the host and he said that he had just had it serviced 2 weeks ago and proceeded to tell me to make sure the door was closed and said if was still a problem he would get someone out right away. I told him I would check back in later and let him know how it was going. The fridge seemed to sometimes work and sometimes not. It took 2 days to make ice, our food was perspiring in the fridge. I let the host know that we didn’t trust the fridge. Last thing we want is food poisoning. He said thanks for letting him know. We kept our milk and juice in the freezer and that worked. Never froze for 3 days! Sounds like a problem to me. He never sent anyone out, we had to eat out for our last 3 meals. I didn’t want to spend my vacation focused on the fridge so I just let it be. When we arrived home, I contacted the host about the process for reimbursement for our list food and loss of the use of the fridge. (Side note-we were delayed on our arrival because of weather and the host offered to extend our stay by a night. We said we wouldn’t be staying an extra night but would take him up on the offer for a late check out as our flight was in the evening.) Below is the host’s response to my question regarding any reimbursement
The reason I have not responded sooner is that I was waiting for the response from the appliance technician. I just spent $96 to pay for the service provider to tell me that there was nothing wrong with the refrigerator. Possibly you would like to reimburse me for the service provider and for the extended checkout time that was graciously provided to you at no cost.
Let me know.
A couple of things here:
He said if I still had concerns he would send someone out. He didn’t.
He knew we had a several meals in the fridge and took no steps to ease our minds in order to use the fridge.
I would rather have had my food and saved another $300 eating out than have an extra 5 hours at the condo.
The “extra” night had no financial loss to him and has absolutely nothing to do with the fridge
I’m a reasonable person. I would have been ok if he just said that he didn’t find anything wrong with the fridge it didn’t warrant a reimbursement. But this response?
Broken screen and jealousie window that would not close was noted by cleaning staff prior to our arrival. We pushed a chair up against it to keep screen from falling into condo. The screen on sliding door to lanai does not lock. Appears that a lock was once on it at one time, Dishwasher leaked when I ran it. Curtain rod fixture on one end in bedroom hanging down from ceiling so I was afraid to try to open that window. Air vent grille broken above shower head, revealing very dusty and rusty air duct interior. Surfaces of table, counters and stove were smeared and greasy. Dust and even a used water bottle on floor carpet behind the lamp table next to bed. Bed skirt was torn and not staying put. Dust and wall size pictures lying under the bed. Carpet in bedroom appears in need of shampooing or replacement. These comments are for Gene only and not for posting. I am sure he does not know how we found the condo. Perhaps I should have taken pictures and sent to him. I thought some common items like salt, pepper and sugar should be in the kitchen and a few coffee packs too.
Aside from that, we did love the views from the lanai, and would return if our budget allows again. Would be nice if there was a senior discount so that folks like us on fixed incomes could benefit. Thank you for allowing me to share my experience with you. Aloha Gene!
Beautiful View! We would give this condo five stars for the view and location, but only three for the condo itself. The pros were the gorgeous view 20 feet from the ocean, sunsets, sea turtles up close, whales in the distance, comfortable bed, nice granite countertops and the whole condo was very clean when we arrived. Previous reviews complained about the door access code panel, but this appears to have been fixed. There were several items in the condo that needed repairs: the ice maker (they did have trays to make our own ice), the toaster lever, the toilet paper holder (kept falling off the wall), the bedroom closet door stuck in the track, some outlets did not work, the markings around the knobs on the stove were worn off and it was hard to tell how hot you were turning the stove, there was no microwave plate on the turntable. There was no dustpan to go with the broom. There were boogie boards in the closet, but they were cracked. The check-in process was confusing and not well explained, however this may be better once the Safe Travels Hawaii program has ended. The wonderful ocean breeze did not get back into the bedroom even with all the windows open, so for us northerners it was sometimes too hot for comfortable sleeping. A pair of binoculars would be a nice amenity for a better look at the whales.
This condo is in a great location and the view is amazing! I loved being on the top floor having coffee and whale watching in the morning. We’ll come back here for sure. However, checking in was complicated. We were not able to get the room key until after we sent the property manager our QR code from Safe Hawaii travel. We sent them the QR code but it wasn’t in a format that they were anticipating so we had to “argue” our case as to why we didn’t have what they we’re looking for. Also, the room key is an electronic code that requires several attempts before it actually unlocks the door. Every time we entered the room we were forced to enter the code a minimum of 5-10 times. I called the local property manager and requested to have the battery changed out but that never happened. (We stayed a full week.) Microwave plate was missing, toaster needs repair, half of the electrical outlets didn’t work, drapes in the bedroom are jammed and should probably be replaced.
Spent 8 nights in height of whale watching season. Some days spent almost entirely watching the water from the lanai. Saw 5-6 turtles, dozens of whales (bring binoculars) a harmless reef shark, a barracuda, (though those fishing never seemed to catch anything), rainbows, sunrises and sunsets. Kept the air flowing through all day and night which kept temperatures comfortable. (Not sure what summer temps feel like without A/C.) Ate in every meal. Quiet neighbors. Decent pay laundry facilities. All in all a great place for us.
This condo had all you needed. I will say the beds weren’t the most comfortable, the bedroom is very soft and the hidabed mattress we put on the floor but could still feel mattress springs, certainly time to perhaps invest on those things.
I had most of my communications with the owner Gene who was pleasant and helpful.
What you read in the other reviews is true, you can’t beat the view. The sea wall in front has rocks beneath that turtles feed off of, we saw more turtles here than anywhere on the island. The beach is small but nice enough to cool down and play in the water, quite a safe little beach for the little ones. Pool is small but does the job.
I wouldn’t recommend staying here without a car though because you are in between some pretty fabulous places that you’ll want to adventure to. Be sure to head North to Honolua Bay, Kapalua Bay and Napili Bay. Amazing snorkeling and beaches. South you’ve got to go to Black Rock beach, such a beautiful spot. Paia fish market in Lahaina for reasonably priced fish and Star noddle house for some great asian tapas and ramen. Enjoy! 😉
Enjoyed our stay at this property , well appointed great views. Many Turtles in the area was awesome to wake up to daily . Sunsets incredible.
Kitchen well appointed. Comfy bed. New kitchen and bathroom with plenty of towels and paper products. Very quiet property with great location. Only complaint is the lock on door did not work properly and took 3-7 times, each time we left, entering code to open. Thank goodness upon arrival we were able to finally get in as it was after hours. Left messages with Maui condo and the host. Maui condo finally contacted us the next day. Never heard from ‘host’ as his mailbox was full. Dealt with this uncertainty for 5 days. They would have sent someone to check it out but needed to be present. On vacation, we were never there during working hours. ☹️ I will contact Maui condos again and I’m sure they will resolve this, but after hours ? good luck.
This was our fourth time on Maui, but first time away from the big resorts. We loved it here and could easily have stayed another month. There is nothing fancy, but it was just what we wanted. Quiet, except for the sound of the waves. We ate all meals on the deck, grilled often, (fresh fish from the Fish Market Maui just down the street a couple miles). Enjoyed turtles, sunsets, and stars everyday and Mantas a couple of days.
The bed was very comfortable and a great shower. Although it is listed for four, I would definitely not do this with another couple (even kids would be difficult), but perfect for two. Kitchen was well supplied with dishes, pans, etc. but nothing besides salt and pepper, so buy your own olive oil, etc. if you plan to cook. There were a few housekeeping issues (no shampoo, no washcloths, no extra towels), but most resolved quickly.
The tiny beach accessed from the condo is underwater at high tide, but there is another small beach with public access just half a block away (or you can brave going around the rocks to get to it). Not a great place for kids, in my opinion. Access to the pool was extremely limited (COVID related, I think), but you could enjoy the grassy area right on the ocean all day long with owner provided chairs.
Would definitely return.
Great little place right off the water! Had everything my fiancé and I needed. We were able to see lots of turtles swimming and even saw a little shark one day. The owner was very communicative when we needed him. Would definitely stay here again when we’re back in Maui.
What an amazing view this place has! The bed was comfortable, the location was incredibly quiet, we saw turtles everyday (as well as a reef shark one evening), and the sunsets were beautiful! This place was everything we hoped for and we cannot wait to come back!
We had a great time! Location was nice and everything we needed was pretty close. Walking distance to beach access. Only recommendation is to bring a beach towel. The rental did not include beach towels. All good though, it was still an awesome spot and we will definitely be back.