Casa de Emdeko Unit 325


Rates: $160 / night (avg.)
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Bed types: K (sleeps 4)
Reviews: 4.80 (from 62 reviews)
***NOTE: HAWAIIAN AIRLINES OFFERING 70,000 MILES WITH CREDIT CARD. NEED TO MAKE ANY PURCHASE TO ACTIVATE. HAPPY TO SHARE INFORMATION. BEST OFFER YET!!!!! I HAVE CODE FOR THIS OFFER.... HAD TO SHARE.
Here is a link to the State website with information on travelling to Hawaii: https://hawaiicovid19.com/travel/

NOTE: Due to Covid concern, our unit takes every precaution to insure you have a not only beautiful, but safe place to stay. You can purchase insurance for you family thru CSA. I was given the number by VRBO. It is 800 348-9505. I know it can be unnerving in these times, but you can protect you and your family if one of the travelers has a positive test. I have been flexible with past reservations when Hawaii closed and will gladly work with you to insure you have the best memorable time while in Kona.

***PARADISE...PARADISE...PARADISE *** WE JUST LOVE THIS LITTLE GEM AND YOU WILL TOO. This unit B-325, has the perfect location. We are on the third floor for fabulous ocean view and nobody overhead. NO STAIRS needed to get into the unit either. Just park and walk a few steps to the elevator. You can unload your car, (I like to borrow the cart from the laundry room) and just bring everything up to the condo without any stairs.....Please make sure to bring the cart back right away if you do borrow it. :)
Owning a piece of Hawaii has been a dream. We recently purchased this unit and have done updating and remodeling with new paint in all the rooms, new linens, flooring and bought a new king size comfy bed as well as other new furniture and decor. The living room has a flat screen tv, stereo, DVD player and added a new flat screen tv in the bedroom. The well stocked kitchen has a breakfast bar, dishes, beverage glasses, silverware, complete cooking utensils, a tea kettle, lettuce spinner, coffee grinder, blender, toaster,built in microwave, dishwasher, fridge, stove, oven., etc. We try to leave spices and whatever you find in the cupboard, feel free to use.

* There is free wireless internet where you can make free long distance calls to the US and Canada. Air conditioning is included.

We recently remodeled the bathroom with new fixtures, and glass block tiles. There are 2 doors for the bathroom, so if you have someone sleeping on the sleeper sofa in the living, you are able to close off your bedroom door to the bedroom. (Some of the units that are not remodeled, just have one door and everyone would have to come through the master bedroom to use the bathroom) There is a built in hairdryer and some toiletries available, as well as towels, of course and beach towels.
The bedroom's tropical touch is the added bamboo pole that has swagged island linen over the window. There are blinds for privacy. We recently purchased a new comfy king sized bed and all the linens. You can sleep with the windows open and fall asleep to the sound of the waves. There is an iron and ironing board in the bedroom closet.

* There are ceiling fans throughout.

*I love paying attention to every decorator detail to give the condo a very island ambience.

The living room has a a queen size sleeper sofa as well as a comfy chair and ottoman.
You can enjoy the lanai with table and 4 new chairs and cushions with gorgeous view of the ocean. You might spot whales or dolphins while enjoying your cocktails and meals.

The complex boasts 2 beautiful favorite is the ocean side salt pool I love it when the waves splash over the seawall. The grounds are meticulously manicured and have over 40 different varieties of hibiscus. There is a large covered pavilion and 3 large barbecues. Tables and chairs are both under the pavilion and out on the large patio that overlooks some breath taking scenery of both the sand beach, the ocean, and the pool and beautiful flowering trees and Paradise! We love the crossed tiki torches that are lit at night too.

One of the highlights at this complex are the friendly people that are drawn to the seawall every night at sunset where the conch shell is blown as the sunsets in the West.
We also Everyone staying there (owners and guests alike) are so friendly, you will experience a true feeling of Aloha.

*The condo comes with a cooler, beach towels and chairs, boogie boards. You can find them in the storage box on the lanai.

We feel we have one of the best locations, on the third floor (NO ONE OVERHEAD), near the elevator, with incredible ocean views.
It is really a fun place if you like to socialize in the evening or at the pool. But, it can also be a quiet and relaxing place as well. The seawall on the property is wonderful to sit and enjoy the ocean, the boats, cruise ships, dolphins and whales. I could sit there for hours. We enjoy hiking along the lava rocks at the adjoining properties and exploring new places.

We love walking in the morning. We are about a mile South of Kona town, so it is an easy walk where you can enjoy your morning coffee and perhaps walk to the pier where you can catch the trolly back to the condo. The trolley runs about every hour and a half.
If you head North, there are a couple beach access areas that we love to go to. One takes you to what is known as Turtle Beach. It is a small secluded beach with sand and shade....a photographers dream for sure. You have to get to the public beach access and walk across some lava that is behind 2 complexes to get there. This is near Living Stones Church (also recommend)
Another thing I would like to mention is the handy Convenience/Sundries store adjacent to the across the parking lot on Alii Drive. You can purchase your morning newspaper, or evening bottle of wine. The Keauhou Shopping Center is about 3 miles to the South and has a wonderful Saturday market, large KTA Grocery Store, Cinemas, Longs Drugs, Thai Restaurant, Subway, Friday night free hula shows, and so much more.

*We provide our guests with my "Fun to Do," list with lots of tips for your Island fun as well as some unknown to most freebees.

Unit 325's Highlights::
COMFY NEW KING SIZE BED
NEW LINENS
LOTS OF BEACH TOWELS
COLORFUL DECOR
GREAT VIEWS OF OCEAN, GARDEN ETC FROM LANAI
New COMFY LANAI CHAIRS
KITCHEN WITH ALL CONVENIENCES OF HOME
CLEAN FRESHLY PAINTED CONDO
NEW DECOR/ART
NO UNPLEASANT SURPRISES
JUST AHHHHHHHHH :)
PARK NEXT TO ELEVATOR
Take ELEVATOR UP TO 3RD FLOOR
NO STAIRS, we are 2 units over from the elevator
EASY ACCESS with our Kaba keyless entry lock

FEATURES OF OUR COMPLEX:
*Quiet beautiful complex right on Ocean
*Perfect for Honeymooners, families, retired people, friends, re-unions, etc.
*Convenience/Liquor Store in the front of the complex, which is an excellent feature when you need something last minute.
*Deli at Convenience store has great made to order.
* Walking distance to restaurants and shopping...Don't Miss nearby Alii Gardens (a block away) Or walk to town (about a mile) and take Trolley back that drops you off in front of the complex.
* Pools 2, Fresh water and Ocean Front salt water pool a picture out of a magazine...LOVE LOVE LOVE that salt water pool by ocean, I can just hear the waves...
* Great Sandy Beach area with lots of lounge chairs and plenty of shade that is next to the pool. It is a perfect place to take in the ocean views, hear the waves and relax or read a book
*Tropical Gardens with waterfall and fountain are the water features in addition to the 2 pools. There are lots and lots of tropical flowers, bushes, trees and plants. Our gardeners are amazing, as I have seen them shaking the bushes to get every loose leaf while taking care of grounds. It is so well manicured. Feel free to pick a hibiscus and put it behind your ear. :)
* Oceanfront Cabana for dining or just enjoying the breathtaking scenery. There are 3 large gas grills with extra burner at waters edge. AND wait til you see it at night with all the lit Tiki Torches...Wow! There are lots of tables and chairs. It is perfect to come down and barbeque in the evening and maybe make some new friends. This is a family friendly area where everyone comes out in the evening to barbeque. Or if you choose not to eat here, enjoy your wonderful lanai.
*Breezy open Lobby with fabulous views offer books, magazines and games. There are tables for games, and comfy furniture.
*Hawaiian sunsets. There is a lava wall to sit on and get some amazing photos.
We love to get up early and head down to the seawall with our moring cup of coffee, sometimes even in the dark. It is wonderful to sit on the seawall and watch the sky as the sun lights things up behind you. Just paradise....
*Nearby hiking The neighboring property to the North is wonderful for morning hikes along the ocean's edge. To the South is another complex to walk through too. We love exploring all these areas.

We have such a passion for Hawaii that we love passing that "aloha spirit" onto all who have chosen to stay with us. I will provide you with my "fun to do" list too.
*Pack and Play and High Chair are now in the unit.
CHECKING IN: Once we receive final payment, we will send you the code to the Kaba Lock along with instructions on how to get to the property from the airport. Mahalo and we look forward to having you stay at our condo. I am sure you are going to love it as much as we do.
If you are looking for a 2 bedroom condo, we own 231615 and 451091 at The Beach Villas.
We recommend getting travel insurance. There are several companies out there. Some of our guests have used https://www.csatravelpro.com/
***WE ARE COMMITTED TO OUR GUESTS COMFORT AND ENJOYMENT ALWAYS. With aloha, Gail and Phil Eddy.

Registration Number: GE-193-875-7632-01, TA-193-875-7632-01

Casa de Emdeko Unit 325 Reviews



Maureen O.
December 2023
Had the very best time at this beautifulll condo on an amazing part of the ocean right near town !! 10/10


Gina G.
November 2023
Fantastic property! We personally had the chance to meet the owners & felt like we had known them for years. Condo felt like we were at home. Perfect place to relax, unwind and watch the waves from pool & small private beach! We will definitely return and stay at this beautiful, cozy home in Hawaii paradise!! So close to town but not in the heart of Kona which is exactly what we were looking for! Thank you Gail & Phil.


Mark W.
March 2023
I'm giving this property an overall rating of 1 star based on their filing an insurance claim after we left for damage which did not occur--at all. Otherwise, I probably would have given them 3 stars. The condo was ok. A little dated, could have used a deep cleaning (most things sticky to the touch), a little under supplied, but generally ok. We had a few minor issues, (broken sun shade, couldn't figure out how to make TV work, cord came off the fan when we tried to turn it on, etc.) but the owner replied quickly and cheerfully and had them fixed by her son in law when we mentioned them. I wouldn't have even bothered to leave this review, except that after we got home, we were shocked to learn that the owner had filed a $1,300 insurance damage claim, alleging that we'd broken all these items and done other damage as well, including a "cigarette burn" (we don't smoke). All of this is completely untrue--it simply did not happen. We are responsible renters in our 60's and we don't run around breaking things (we've never before received a rating from an owner under 5 stars). I am at a loss to explain the owner's conduct in filing this insurance claim after acknowledging the problems and having them fixed--we've never had an experience like this in our lives. Suffice it to say that we, at least, will never stay in a condo owned by this owner again.


Bob T.
February 2023
Great location, very quiet, love the grounds


John M.
January 2023
We stayed at Gail's condo for a long weekend. Her communication was great. The only hiccup was my fault as I had missed an email she sent. The unit was very clean however there could be a bit of updating here or there. We realy like the larger lanai, we have found small lanais in other locations that were.nt comfortable. The kitchen was very well stocked with spices, condiments etc. It appears that the leave the items the guests may leave behind which made cooking easier than anywhere else we have stayed in Kono.


Bill & Karen C.
December 2022
Too bad it was only 10 days! We were comfortable, into a great easy-going routine, and enjoying our stay, when suddenly, it was time to go home. :( Comfortable bed, easy to work in kitchen, and good view from the lanai. Gail was quick to answer questions we had, and her list of fun things to do was very informative. We would be happy to return to Gail's little piece of paradise!


Mary D.
October 2022
Our place was perfect in every way. Gail and Phil thought of everything. Our favorite was the salt water pool swims early in the am. Everyone was so friendly and we enjoyed the sunset with the conch blowing . We would definitely come back here. Mahola Gail and Phil


Dean R.
October 2022
Very clean, no surprises, and the location is outstanding! Right on Ali'i drive which was busy for the Ironman race but we never heard traffic or any other noise. Lanai overlooked a beautiful and quiet courtyard and the two pools were fantastic. We will definitely stay here again if we get the chance!


Ken F.
September 2022
We wanted to relax, and this place was very relaxing. All the information we received made arrival and check-in extremely easy. There is some rock work on the right side of the complex where the elevator is. We parked near that. This condo is very close to the elevator. There are ceiling fans inside and out to keep the air feeling fresh. It was a bit warmer than usual (ya know, by a degree or so) so we used A/C quite a bit. The A/C does a great job of cooling the whole place. It was well decorated with lots of supplies in the kitchen, plenty of towels, beach supplies, shopping bags, sundries, and games. We enjoyed the saltwater pool. The grounds were well taken care of with lots of birds hanging out. We're missing the sounds of those birds! Friendly geckos came to visit us on the lanai too! We caused an issue (unheard of!) and had to contact Gail. She was very helpful and friendly to chat with. Now there's a new coffee maker in the place too!


Breanne F.
August 2022
We are frequent travelers and looked forward to our month-long stay here. We were quite disappointed and cannot recommend it to anyone else. AVOID THIS CONDO and this condo building. THE GOOD: --Excellent, beautiful view (with geckos running around) --Great location and easy check in. You can get around easily here. --The elevator made it easy and convenient to get in. --We sometimes received responses from the owner (but not consistently). --The technology worked great-- WiFi, Smart TV, and lights/fans. --Shower had great pressure and towels were nice and fluffy. MAJOR ISSUES WITH OUR STAY: --The a/c broke for two days, then leaked toward the end of our stay. We had to set up buckets in the hallway. --The ocean pool was closed for the vast majority of the month (for painting and then over and over whenever waves put sand into it--do NOT expect that it will ever be open). --The water was shut off three times during our stay. Further, the tap water tasted moldy and the owner recommended we do not drink it. --There was constant, daily construction noise from morning until night (including most weekends), along with construction materials on the ground and in the elevators at all times. If you want a restful sleep, this is not possible here. --The building manager was unreachable during the entire stay. Few updates were provided. We waited weeks until the owner sent any updates on pool openings/closures, and there was a general feel of staying in an old, falling-apart building. --The condo was under-supplied. While we would of course expect to buy our own toilet paper (etc.), we also had to purchase trash bags, a Brita filter, dish pods, ziploc bags, and if we had done laundry, laundry detergent. The last thing you want to deal with on vacation is buying lots of supplies. MINOR ISSUES: --The bed was mushy and sagged in the middle. --The bathroom sink was slow to drain. --The toilet seat was loose and nearly falling off. --They did pest control in the condo and we noticed quite a few roaches in the hallways. --The kitchen gear (aside from the amazing knives) was mostly "on the cheap" and was not in good condition. --The blinds let in light. As a final note, the owner reacted quite defensively or in an avoidant way when we brought up any of these issues. (for example, when we reported the leaking a/c, she said it must be because we left the windows and doors open rather than because there was an actual problem). I DO NOT recommend staying here.


Michael W.
June 2022
Great fun and nice location, just outside downtown Kona. Peace and quiet for relaxing vacation. Close to good food and all the fun Kona has to offer. Snorkeling was amazing right out in front of condo complex. The condo itself was decorated nicely, had everything we needed to cook meals and had a nice patio, with great view.


Julie B.
June 2022
The condo was located conveniently between the north & south beaches. It was well stocked. We enjoyed sitting on the lanai, looking at the ocean, while eating meals. AC worked great.


Amy H.
June 2022
Rental was good. I had asked some questions via email and through app that were not answered (they were nothing huge just recommendations for food and kayak rentals and I understand messages can be missed). Condo was nice and tidy. Views were amazing


Lynne A.
May 2022
Very cozy homey condo that was well stocked for our 12 day stay. Loved the 2 pools and all the friendly people at the bbq area. Aloha until next time!


Gary H.
May 2022
This was a beautiful property. The condo was fabulous. Everything was clean and beautifully decorated. Gail was really helpful with a situation we needed help with. She was also very hands on, meaning when we got in she touched base with us, to make sure we made it in ok and if we needed anything, When we needed to reach her, we did. The only issue I had was incredibly small. The bedroom is by the entrance (not the issue), there're good size windows, and people walk past them. (Not the issue, everyone was respectful and quiet) The issue is they have blinds that have gaps in them. Meaning you can see into the room fairly easily. Just putting up some sheer curtains would solve that. This in no way, shape, or form, took away from our visit or the beauty of their condo and property. What is advertised is what you get. Thank you both for having us!


Donna S.
April 2022
We were traveling to Hawaii for a special family occasion. We VERY MUCH appreciated meeting the hosts and getting a very early check in as soon as we arrived. (We had been up since 4 in the morning!) The unit was very clean and comfortable, and had every kind of convenience. The kitchen shelves had all sorts of spices and the fridge had condiments and even some welcome cold drinks left by prior guests! (we left many of our own in return.) Its a very nice policy as opposed to stripping the shelves bare and making guests go out and buy even salt and pepper. The large bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. And we appreciated the coolers, and beach chairs, etc. in the unit for guests. It all made for a very comfortable stay at "the Casa" a complex we were very familiar with and very fond of. It was good to return to Hawaii and be met with such aloha.


Pamela B.
March 2022
Aloha! Konagails bungalow at Casa de Emdecko has everything you need. Very "Hawaiian" look , cute, & nice view of the ocean from the lani. Beach accessories, which is a plus! and great salt water pool right next to the ocean. Good location, trolly pick up in front with very friendly people at the convenience store also located in front. There was an issue with the AC, which Gail was right on top if. Thx for a relaxing & comfy place !



March 2022
Great place to stay. Would stay here again if avalible on next trip ok p to island.


Denice K.
January 2022
This is a nice property. The apartment was a little dirty because housekeeping didn't have enough time to clean after a month long tenant. Kitchen needs a little updating and organizing. The beach towels were skimpy and they wanted you to wash them before leaving (I found this unacceptable). Bed was comfortable and we never did figure out the TV. The waves crashing on the beach wall were mesmerizing. Nice pools and grounds. No beach access. Owner did not offer any compensation for dirty kitchen.


Christine S.
November 2021
Everything about this condo was perfect! The location was amazing with breathtaking views of the ocean and coastline, the condo was clean, well-equipped and nicely decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable! The hosts were available and were so kind to send some items to me that I left behind! We would definitely recommend this condo if you want the perfect Hawaiian vacation!


Nick C.
October 2021
We enjoyed our stay here very much. While on the third floor, the convenience of the elevator was greatly appreciated! The unit was cutely decorated and obviously very loved by Gail! All the neighbors were very friendly and interested in being helpful. We enjoyed the proximity to downtown Kona and all the local beaches and attractions. Our favorite meal was by far The Poke Shake and Fosters Kitchen. Mahalo!


Christopher E.
October 2021
Nice little getaway spot. The unit was clean, nice and owner was very responsive/helpful.


Denise L.
June 2016
This nicely decorated unit is comfortable, has everything you need to stay. We LOVED opening the door from Lanai and front door (has a locked security screen door) at night and listened to ocean! The grounds at Casa are spectacular!! Gail is wonderful to work with and has many suggestions on things to do while on The Big Island! We will definitely be back to stay here.


Brent R.
April 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Casa De Emdeko. Everything was available as detailed in the description. Easy to walk into town for coffee shops or restaurants. BBQ area is very nice, and set up well for socializing. Nice to be right on the ocean to watch those amazing sunsets. Thanks, Brent.


Carol L.
March 2016
This is our second time at Gail's condo unit 325. The unit is so beautifully decorated and has everything thing you need for your stay. The lanai has a beautiful view of the ocean and ground's landscaping. I appreciated Gail contacting us to make sure if everything was OK and if we needed anything. Couldn't be happier with the service provided by Gail. We definitely will be back next year for another enjoyable stay.


Jewell S.
January 2016
The condo is nicely appointed clean and comfy it even has a nice view of the beautiful grounds and the ocean. It has super easy access to the elevator we loved it and will definitely stay again! It's close to everything and we enjoyed many evenings bbq and enjoying the saltwater pool on the condos beautiful grounds. The owner Gail is so nice she is great and quick to respond & has a great itinerary of all the must see & do. We can't wait to go back!


Ann S.
January 2016
The condo is a one bedroom unit in an oceanside complex near Kailua Kona, Hawaii. The unit is well kept up and nicely decorated, very comfortable for a couple, possibly with one child. The complex has a beautiful garden, outside grill and eating areas, and a small sandy "beach" area overlooking the water. We saw whales and moray eels swimming by, and watched the sunset with a cocktail every evening. It's well located to reach beaches to the south and Kona town and other points north. A small convenience store on the property has everything you need for a great stay.



January 2016
My son and I stayed for a week during our first trip to Kona. We walked in the door and my son's first response was... WOW! :) The unit was very spacious and clean. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai and the beach supplies provided in the tote. The complex is occupied by a majority of retired aged tenants, which made for a relaxing and quiet stay. They gather at the cabana at sunset and make for great conversations, very welcoming. The salt water pool was so nice we didn't even try the regular pool. I would definitely come back. Gail was very responsive and helpful, I liked that she called the unit during our stay to ask if everything was okay. Helpful hints: If you plan on doing laundry at the complex, bring quarters. The nearby store wasn't so accommodating in giving quarters. Luckily.. a generous tenant helped me with $5 worth.


Deanna J.
December 2015
We had a wonderful time. Well appointed condo. Close to town and restaurants. Liked Gail's tips on things to do and places to eat. Very useful. Definitely would come back:)



November 2015
Very nice. Excellent amenities. Great saltwater pool. Suggestions/recommendations were spot on!


Suzanne M.
October 2015
This was a great, one-bedroom condo. description and pictures were accurate, appreciated the responsiveness of the owner. Would recommend it.


Rose s.
October 2015
Perfect spot for girls getaway. Loved it! Clean, comfortable, and close to town. Had coffee on the balcony each morning and watched the sunrise-lovely. We walked into town every morning for breakfast. A good way to get your exercise. Thanks Gail for your dinner recommendations. One of our high-lights was turtle beach. Very spiritual being up close and personal with a sea turtle. We miss our evenings on the balcony drinking wine and playing mexican train!

Note: Vacancy calendar is approximate. Visit the owner/manager's reservation site to verify your dates.

Travel Tip - Car Rentals
Discount Hawaii Car Rental often has the lowest car rental rates in Hawaii. There's no deposit, no booking fees, and you can cancel at anytime.